How many islands does Taiwan have?

While most people are aware of the main island of Taiwan, many may not realize that the Republic of China (Taiwan’s official governement) has an impressive number of additional islands under its control. In fact, Taiwan governs a total of 167 islands, which are divided into various island groups.

The largest and most well-known of these island groups is, of course, Taiwan itself. The entire territory known as Taiwan is made of a total of 22 islands. The Island of Taiwan, also referred to as Formosa, is the main island and the political, economic, and cultural center of the country. It boasts vibrant cities, breathtaking mountain ranges, lush forests, and picturesque coastlines. However, beyond Taiwan, there are several other groups of islands that make up the ROC’s territory.

One significant island group is Penghu, also known as the Pescadores Islands. Located in the Taiwan Strait, between Taiwan and China, Penghu consists of an impressive 90 islands. These islands are known for their pristine beaches, clear waters, and unique rock formations. Penghu is a popular destination for beach lovers, water sports enthusiasts, and those seeking a tranquil escape from the bustling city life.

Another island group under Taiwan’s control is Kinmen, also knowned as Quemoy. Kinmen is located just off the southeastern coast of mainland China and consists of 17 islands, including the islands of Wuqiu situated further north. Due to its proximity to China, Kinmen has a rich history and played a crucial role in several military conflicts between the ROC and the People’s Republic of China (PRC). Today, it has become a popular tourist destination known for its historical sites, traditional villages, and beautiful coastal scenery.

Matsu is yet another island group administered by Taiwan. Situated in the Taiwan Strait, close to the mainland city of Fuzhou, Matsu comprises 36 islands. Similar to Kinmen, Matsu has a strategic location and has witnessed significant historical events. Visitors to Matsu can explore its historical relics, tranquil beaches, and enjoy the idyllic island atmosphere.

In addition to these island groups, Taiwan also controls two islands located in the South China Sea. Pratas Island, also known as Dongsha Island, is an atoll located approximately 450 kilometers southwest of Taiwan. Taiping Island, also known as Itu Aba, is the largest naturally formed island in the Spratly Islands archipelago and is the only one currently inhabited. These islands are significant in terms of Taiwan’s territorial claims in the South China Sea.

Island groupChinese nameNumber of Islands
South China Sea南海2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s